Part of the Oxford Instruments Group
Science Prizes
The Lee Osheroff Richardson Science Prize for North and South America

Oxford Instruments NanoScience is proud to sponsor the Lee Osheroff Richardson (LOR) Science Prize for North and South America for research in physical science. The objective of the LOR Science Prize is to promote and recognise the novel work of young scientists working in the fields of low temperatures, high magnetic fields or surface science in North and South America. Oxford Instruments is aware that there is a critical and often difficult stage for many, between completing their PhD and gaining a permanent research position. The company therefore would like to help individuals who are producing innovative work in these fields by offering assistance, both financially and by promoting their research work through sponsoring this prestigious award.

The winner is chosen by the prize selection committee comprising leading physicists from North and South America.

The Lee Osheroff Richardson Science Prize for North and South America consists of:

  • 8,000 dollars cash prize
  • a certificate and trophy
  • support to attend the next APS March Meeting, where the winner is awarded at a special event by Oxford Instruments 'Socialize with Science'

Paula Giraldo-Gallo, Assistant Professor of Universidad de Los Andes, Colombia has been selected as the 2019 winner of the LOR Science Prize for her contributions to the understanding of a variety of novel superconductors – ranging from low-carrier-density semiconductors to the cuprates, with a special focus on magneto-transport measurements in ultra-high magnetic fields to characterise the normal state of such superconductors, the state from which superconductivity originates. Congratulations!

Lee Osheroff Richardson 

The Lee Osheroff Richardson Science Prize for North and South America is named after David M. Lee, Douglas D. Osheroff and Robert C. Richardson who were joint winners of the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1996, for their discovery of superfluidity in 3He.

They conducted the Nobel prize winning research in the early 1970's in the low temperature laboratory at Cornell University using apparatus they had built to produce sample temperatures within a few thousandths of a degree of absolute zero. Their findings proved that the helium isotope 3He can be made superfluid at a temperature only about two thousandths of a degree above absolute zero. The discovery initiated intensive research on the special characteristics of the new quantum liquid. Lee, Osheroff and Richardson have also received, among other awards, the Sir Francis Simon Memorial Prize 1976 (Institute of Physics UK), and the Oliver E. Buckley Solid State Physics Prize 1980 (American Physical Society); for the discovery of superfluidity in 3He.

Oxford Instruments would like to thank David M. Lee, Douglas D. Osheroff and Robert C. Richardson for permission to name the prize after them.



Committee Members

Prize Comittee Chairman: 

Professor Bruce Gaulin, Mc Master University

Prize committee members:

Professor Meigan Aronson, Texas A&M University

Professor Greg Boebinger, Director NHMFL

Professor Raj Mohanty, Boston University 

Professor Collin Broholm, Johns Hopkins University

Dr Kathryn A. Ross, Colorado State University (ex-officio member)

Other Science Prizes 

Previous Lee Osheroff Richardson Prize Winners

Dr Ross is recognized for her research towards elucidation of exotic magnetic ground states and ground state selection in quantum frustrated magnets, using neutron scattering techniques at low temperatures and in high magnetic fields.

2018 Prize Winner: Dr Kate A. Ross

Dr Ramshaw’s technical contributions to condensed matter physics have focused on improving measurement techniques for pulsed magnetic fields up to 100 T, and on improving resonant ultrasound spectroscopy for low-temperature applications.

2017 Prize Winner: Dr Brad Ramshaw

Dr Hamidian’s award-winning contributions to condensed matter physics have focused on strongly correlated electronic materials and atomic-scale visualisation methods of electronic structure using scanning tunnelling microscopy (STM).

2016 Prize Winner: Dr Mohammad Hamidian

Dr Dean is recognised for his definitive measurement of the Hofstadter butterfly by combining novel techniques in nanoscale fabrication of graphene-based devices with ultra high magnetic fields, that provided the first experimental verification of this problem.

2015 Prize Winner: Dr Cory R. Dean

Dr Tarantini of NHMFL is known for a wide-ranging studies of high field superconductors focusing on paths to practical material forms useful for high field magnets.

2014 Prize Winner: Dr Chiara Tarantini

Dr Li's contributions include studies of magnetically ordered and superconducting oxide interfaces, phase transitions between Dirac electron states in elemental Bismuth, and Nernst effect and high resolution magnetisation studies of fluctuating vortex states.

2013 Prize Winner: Dr Lu Li

Dr Burch was awarded for the novel mechnical exfoliation studies of both high temperature superconductors and topological insulators, combined with optical studies of related highly correlated electron materials, which have been most impressive.

2012 Prize Winner: Dr Kenneth Burch

Dr Jing Xia was awarded for his work on topologically ordered condensed matter systems at low temperature and high magnetic fields.

2011 Prize Winner: Dr Jing Xia

Dr Zapf is recognised for making the definitive experimental verification of the applicability of the Bose-Einstein condensation universality class, to magnetic field-induced phases in quantum magnets, through novel experimental techniques at ultra-low temperatures.

2010 Prize Winner: Dr Vivien Zapf

Dr Eunseong Kim was awarded for his seminal contributions to the understanding of solid helium and discovery of non-Debye behaviour, that energised the field of quantum solids, spurred the interest of the condensed matter physics community and captured the fascination of all.

2008 Prize Winner: Dr Eunseong Kim

Dr Suchitra Sebastian is recognised for outstanding contributions to the understanding of Bose condensation phenomena in quantum magnets.

2007 Prize Winner: Dr Suchitra Sebastian

Dr Petta was awarded for his work at the forefront of quantum device research employing low temperature techniques and for taking the control of quantum bits to a new level, indicating a clear path forward, towards viable quantum information processing in the solid state.

2006 Prize Winner: Dr Jason Petta

Dr Lupien worked at the forefront of experimental low temperature metals physics. His work resulted in groundbreaking low temperature scanning tunneling microscopy measurements which elucidated the nature of a new charge ordered state in a transition metal oxychloride.

2005 Prize Winner: Dr Christian Lupien